Is the RV lifestyle for Us? Or maybe explore Central America?

That might sound like an odd question for a couple in their mid 30s to ask themselves. However, we have the traveling bug and would love to slowly explore the United States once we are Financially Independent (FI).

There are two sites that I enjoy reading. Check them out!

The youngest snowbird is a site where the couple travels in an RV from Canada (where they call home and spend the summer) to different States in the Southern or Southwestern United States. This appeals to me, because we currently live in the snowbelt (althought this winter has been minimal in that respect) and *think* we would enjoy traveling to different warmer states during the winter and exploring national parks and museums and other low cost entertainment, amusement. Even sports like running/hiking/tennis can all be done for minimal cost. This couple is in their 30s and reached FI before I could hope to at 37! I do believe the husband works in the summer at a golf course, so they do have some traditional income, but I think the majority of their living expenses come from dividend income, inspiring! It’s like 50K! They live on about 30K and invest the difference. I read that she made most of her money from real estate in the 90’s Boom, great timing! I’m sure it involved hard work, research and I’m happy for them even though I don’t know them. I’m glad I can learn from their experiences.

Retire Early Lifestyle is a great resource for those who think they would enjoy traveling outside of the United States and explore countries where the US dollar has a higher value.  This site has lots of beautiful pictures and tips and they even sell a book for those who are looking for specific help in traveling in other countries. I have not yet read their book, so I can not provide a review, but as I get closer to my FI number goal I will purchase their book. This site is awesome because as it states on their site,

In 1991 Billy and Akaisha Kaderli retired at the age of 38. Now, into their 22nd year of this financially independent lifestyle, they invite you to take advantage of their wisdom and experience. And they are just getting started!

Talk about learning from experience! They have it! I believe they have a home base in AZ in a nice low cost active retirement community.

By reading these sites and really picturing our lives once we are FI, it helps to say no to the little frivolous things that would derail us from our goal of becoming FI. What helps you stay on track? What would you like to do with your life once you reach FI?

4 responses to “Is the RV lifestyle for Us? Or maybe explore Central America?

  1. The Stoic Investor

    I say go for it! You get one life to live, live it based on what is important to you guys, not what is considered the standard path. The beautiful thing about living is that there are so many paths we can choose to experience it. We only have open our minds to the possibilities.

  2. That is a great way to enjoy FI. There is so much to do and see I don’t think I would ever get bored. The youngest snowbird site shows how important timing can be in life, making the majority of the money in the boom. Now they can enjoy it!

Leave a comment