Money Talk Taboo?

One personal finance website that inspired me to start my own was Dividend Mantra and the main reason (besides his good dividend stock advice) is he keeps an amazing budget (he saves over half his income every single month) and is so open with his finances. He lists his stock holdings, goals and even his monthly budget, down to the dollar!

I would like to be more open, but something is holding me back. I don’t know if as a child I was told not to talk about money, that it was rude. One thing I have always noticed is the people who have a decent amount of money (IMO net worth over $1M) and who I view as “classy” aren’t “flashy” about their money.

Given this site is somewhat anonymous and I do want it to be a personal finance and savings site, I will strive to be more transparent with my own finances.

What was your history with talking about money?  Was it a taboo subject? Don’t you think if we were more open (as a society) we could encourage each other to save more and reach our own personal goals?

2 responses to “Money Talk Taboo?

  1. The Stoic Investor

    DM was the motivation behind the start up of my blog as well. In regards to your concern about being open about your finances I think it is important to consider your audience. You are going to have a certain amount of bias in your readership as most people who are reading a money/investing blog our doing so in hopes of learning by others examples. I almost think it is expected that we be open about our own financial situations. It’s not being flashy, just what visitors of your blog would expect.

    Good luck and I’m wishing you guys a great and prosperous 2012.

    • Thank you for the comment, you are my first 🙂 I will try to be more open with my financial situation, I appreciate and agree with your advice. Given this platform, that’s what people are looking for. DM does wonderful in that regard.

      Best wishes to you, here’s to a successful 2012!

Leave a Reply

