Priorities

It’s been quiet around here, and I apologize for that. I haven’t posted because I haven’t executed any trades, and the market had some ups and downs that make me a little nervous. I haven’t felt like researching any stocks or talking much because I have other things on my mind, no financial things.

Basically I am worried…about my mother. She is having heart surgery next week. That is all I have room for in my brain right now.  I am thankful she is on Medicare and also has a supplemental policy, so I imagine that there will be no financial burden of this hospital stay. Emotional and physical drains are another story.  She is strong and a great candidate for the surgery, she respects and likes both her cardiologist and surgeon.  They expect a full recovery and tell her she will have more energy and feel much better after the surgery.  Well…after the recovery, which will be several weeks if not months. 

I am thankful for so many things. I live close to my parents, I have a job with some flexibility, I will be able to be at the hospital on the surgery day along my husband and other concerned family. I will be able to help my dad during my moms recovery.

Life usually moves so fast, but when you anticipate an uncomfortable event that all turns upside down. It’s these times when the hours and days tick slowly, the nerves build, the sleep doesn’t come easy, if at all. I can’t imagine what she is feeling, because she is so positive and strong. I don’t want to upset her flow of good energy by asking about her underlying fears. 

I will continue as normal, pray more than usual, breathe deep and push down my anxiety.

The market and my portfolio will be here when I’m off hiatus, and I have room in my mind for them.

If at all possible, Call your mother and tell her you love her.

4 responses to “Priorities

  1. The Stoic Investor

    Wish you and your mother the best. Certainly understandable to feel distracted.

    I wish her a speedy recovery. Do you know what kind of procedure she is having?

    • She is having a heart valve replaced (not sure which one) and something done to her aorta (as it is enlarged). Thank you for your concern TSI, I appreciate it. All the best to you.

  2. Best wishes to your mother and I hope everything goes very smoothly!

Leave a Reply

