Hot Yoga

*Disclaimer* This post has nothing to do with Finance/Investing.

Last night I went to a hot yoga class. I have a love/hate relationship with this class. In fact I have a love/hate relationship with most exercise in general. I love how I feel when I’m done with a workout or class, and sometimes even during the exercise itself, I find myself sincerely in the moment, enjoying the sweat and physical exertion, the effort, feeling connected to my body, but I have a difficult time making exercise a part of my routine.

I have gotten off track this year, I have gotten comfortable in married life, eaten more than my body requires to be in my best shape and am suffering the consequences of an extra 10 vanity pounds. For a female in her 30s this is a big deal.  I am committed to lose these 10 lbs. I am going to accomplish this goal by exercising a minimum of 1000 minutes/week (this will be mostly running and once a week Hot Yoga) and I am going to carefully control my portions (I can’t do deprivation, I just rebel and crave everything I’m trying to avoid).

This week I am doing well I have already done 155 minutes of exercise, the 80 minute hot yoga last night helped bump up that total. I usually just do a run/walk for 30-45 minutes.

The yoga class was also good for my mind, as I was able to concentrate on my breath and feel at peace with my body. The instructor’s voice was so calming and the things she said were just what I needed for clarity. She said that our bodies are the greatest gift we will ever own. It made me also think that our bodies are really the only thing that we ever truly own, so we should honor our bodies and take care of them better than anything else. Therefore I am committing to yoga 1-2x per week.

Leave a Reply

