Start your “Change”

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.” Mahatma Ghandi

This is such a great quote that can be applied to so many different aspects of our lives- kindness, charity, generosity. I was thinking recently of what  I will do with my time once I’m retired (quite possibly in my mid 40s, 2020). Honestly if we retire at that age, we won’t have the money to do just anything we want, there won’t be luxury travel, but we will be trading those options for more time and freedom. We have an option with our Network Marketing business, if we are able to put more time into that now, we can probably have more residual funds in 2020.

What I was really thinking about with this post is starting to change my habits now for the better. I “think” that when I have more time I will exercise more, this may or may not be true. However if I can make exercise a priority now and it becomes a weekly habit (right now I have the goal of 250 minutes/week) I will be very likely to continue that healthy habit for years to come, and will therefore need less in medical costs due to my healthy active lifestyle. Last week I made the goal, this week I’m not off to a great start, but the week isn’t over and I can reach the weekly goal if I make it a priority. Which it is, and I will. Still loving the Hot Yoga, once a week or so, last week I did two classes and it was quite wonderful.

Very important yet often neglected healthy eating habits, I read a book by Dr. Joel Fuhrman Eat to Live where he stresses the importance of eating G-B-O-M-B-S (Greens, Beans, Onions, Mushrooms, Berries & Seeds) for a healthy system, not just keeping the weight off but avoiding many health related diseases (e.g. diabetes, cancer). Therefore I am committed to eating healthy starting now, roughly 90% of the time. Of course I’m realistic, I enjoy treats and know deprivation sends me running for the most unhealthy food around, so I will shoot for 90% of the time to eat healthily.  This also will help to reduce the medical expenses and avoid diabesity (diabetes due to obesity, is this even a real word? I’ve heard it a lot lately and it makes me sick, because this horrible disease could be avoided by healthy eating for many people).

On an unrelated note, has anyone read Gone Girl ? It’s such an absorbing book, I can’t put it down. I’m not usually into psychological thrillers, but this one is surely holding my attention. I’m sure I’ll finish it within the week, I really enjoy the twisting story, the deeply flawed characters and overall writing style.

Leave a Reply

